Neglect

Whoops. So I’ve totally neglected this blog for the last…3 weeks? Eeek! Sorry!!! My lame excuse is that I was super busy the last two weeks I was back in Hawaii and this past week in LA has been just as hectic. So much to do, so little time. (Story of my goddamn life.)

I promised a fried that I’d blog tonight so I’m just gonna do a quick post on some of the shenanigans I was up to during my last few weeks in Hawaii. Just to warn y’all…this will probably be the first of a few posts like this since SO MUCH happened.

Hope you enjoy it!

1. Utage Restaurant (Honolulu, HI)
Okinawan soba. It always tastes better when someone cooks it for you. The shoyu pork is sooo winnaz! Ahhhh *drool*

2. Off the Wall Restaurant and Bar (Aiea, HI)
Shoyu Pork Andagi – OMG this was so delicious! Once you’ve had a bad andagi you really learn to appreciate when it’s done right. And this one was definitely done right. A bit pricey for what you get, but everything at this joint is a bit overpriced if you ask me.
“Naked” spicy ahi poke musubi – This was also delicious but goddamn…$8 for a musubi? I’d rather just make it myself, thank you very much. Hahaha
Bubu Arare Karaage Chicken – This was probably one of the two best dishes of the night. Super flavorful and moist. YUM! ^o^
Mochiko Style Fish Bites – This was the other surprise of the night. Some of the best fried fish I’ve had in awhile. Not overly greasy and the fish was cooked perfectly. WINNAZ!
Petite Petite Braised Short Ribs – The most overpriced option of the night. Haha and of course it’s the one I chose. Go figure. I got this as a meal for like $14 but it didn’t come with the soup and the portion was ridiculously small.

3. Morio’s Sushi Bistro (Honolulu, HI)
Ghetto decor but don’t let that fool you. This place has some bomb ass sushi.
BYOB. This was seriously the beer to go with that night. My people know how to do beer right. #Uchinanchupride
To start the meal off…bomb ass salad (dressing was so good), edamame, and tamagoyaki. Yum!
Soft Shell Crab – Whoops…slightly blurry image. So bomb. Like seriously. I’m drooling here just thinking about it. -__-;
Tempura – At this point, I was already starting to get stuffed so I was freaking out. WE DIDN’T EVEN GET TO THE SUSHI YET WTF. Thought running through my head when they brought this: PACE YOURSELF. YOU CAN DEW IT.
Garlic Chicken – Yes, I know. We were there for sushi…but my mom’s not a huge sushi eater so we had to get some non-sushi options. This was AMAZEBALLS. The moistest, flavorful chicken I’ve had EVER. Again, drooling here. Hardcore drooling right now. #foodiedeath
Omakase Sushi – I…didn’t know what half of the stuff was but I honestly don’t care. It was amazing. Wish we had ordered some amaebi and toro on the side though.

Okay. Enough for now. I’m too hungry to function. Hope you enjoyed the pictures! For more in-depth reviews, click on the restaurant name to view my review (along with others) on Yelp.

In the meantime…happy nomming folks!

2 comments
  1. I think I could eat all of that myself 🙂 Is that mayonnaise on the fish bites?

  2. Mayumi said:

    Hi there! Thanks for stopping by the blog. Yes, it’s mayonnaise. Can’t remember if they mixed anything special in it to make it an aioli of some sort though…best you travel to Hawaii to try it out for yourself!

Leave a comment